Christopher L. Dunham, PA Call us today at (352) 353-8117
Ocala and Marion County Criminal Defense Lawyer Attorney Profile Criminal Defense Free Case Evaluation Contact Us
Find additional criminal defense information and news in our blog
Contact Us
Find answers to common criminal defense questions See our recent news publications Stay updated with ourcriminal defense blogs.
Click here to read more.

DUI: The First Ten Days

If you're one of the thousands of Floridians who is arrested for a DUI, the time to start acting is now. In 2010, Marion County had 726 CONVICTIONS and Alachua County had 431 CONVICTIONS for driving while under the influence. This statistic does not include arrests that didn't yield a conviction. The effect of a DUI can be anywhere from little more than a momentary set back to completely devastating for years to come based on the choices you make.

The most pressing concern clients face is usually saving their driver license. Without a license, many clients find themselves unemployed, unable to care for family, and with much bigger problems than their original arrest. There are two entities that try to take away your license. The first is the criminal law system by which a judge orders that your license be suspended. The second is the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

In order to make the process smoother, the very first thing you should do is apply for a hardship license.

  • The application must be submitted within 10 days of the stop.
  • You may first fill out the Request for Eligibility Review form. This form can be found here.
  • Once you fill out the form (including the waiver of the formal hearing), the form must be faxed to 352.334.1597 with a CLEAR copy of your citation and a copy of your application to DUI school (below you will find the information for some local schools).
  • The administration will call you and you will have to pay a $25 filing fee. Once they call you and you complete a phone interview, they will decide whether to issue a hardship license.

Below is the contact information for the Gainesville and Ocala DUI schools:

Gainesville DUI School
North Central Florida Safety Counsel
3710 NW 51st Street, Suite A
Gainesville, FL 32606
Phone: 352-377-2566

Ocala DUI School
West Central Florida Driver Improvement, Inc.
225 NE 14th Street
Ocala, FL 34479
Phone: 352-622-6991

The second step would be to fight your criminal charges. The charges can be fought in a number of ways, and which option you go with is a discussion for you to have with your attorney. If you've been arrested for a DUI, contact our office immediately to begin your defense.

Follow us Facebook Twitter Google Plus
1107 east Silver Spring Blvd., Suite 2, Ocala, FL 34470
Attorney Web Design

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Dunham & Ingram LLC - Ocala Criminal Defense Attorney
Located at 225 NE 8th Ave, Ocala, FL 34470.
Phone: (352) 353-8117.
Local: (352) 433-2219.
Website: .