Christopher L. Dunham, PA Call us today at (352) 353-8117
Ocala and Marion County Criminal Defense Lawyer Attorney Profile Criminal Defense Free Case Evaluation Contact Us
Find additional criminal defense information and news in our blog
Contact Us
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:
Find answers to common criminal defense questions See our recent news publications Stay updated with ourcriminal defense blogs.
Click here to read more.

Underage DUI in Florida

Ocala DUI Defense Attorney

In the state of Florida it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to consume alcohol, and likewise it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Although the legal BAC limit for a driver 21 years or older is .08%, an underage driver will face DUI charges if their BAC is .02% or higher. Florida follows a Zero Tolerance policy in regards to underage drunk driving, and as a result imposes strict consequences for any violations of this law.

If you are charged with under 21 DUI, it is important that you do not wait to enlist the skilled representation of a Marion County criminal defense lawyer for your case.

Penalties for Under 21 DUI

In an effort to reduce underage drunk driving, the state sentences violators to harsh penalties, the extent of which are based upon the circumstances of the alleged incident. If you are convicted of under 21 DUI, your sentencing could include the following penalties:

  • Under 21 Driver with BAC of .02% or above: If a first offense, the driver's license will be suspended for 6 months. If the driver has previously been convicted of DUI, their license will be suspended for 1 year.
  • Under 21 Driver who refuses breath or blood test: For refusal to submit to a chemical BAC test the driver's license will be suspended for 1 year. If a second or subsequent refusal, the driver will lose their license for 18 months.
  • Under 18 Driver with a BAC of .02% or above: Minors charged with DUI will face a 6 month license suspension for a first offense as well as mandatory evaluation at an addictions facility or completion of an alcohol education program.
  • Under 21 Driver with BAC of .08% or above: If an underage driver is convicted of DUI with a BAC of .08% or above they face the same penalties as a driver aged 21 or older. The penalties for a first DUI offense in Florida include fines of $500 to $1,000, driver's license suspension of 180 days to 1 year, vehicle impoundment, incarceration in county jail up to 6 months, and 50 hours of community service.

What happens if I drive with a suspended license?

License suspension is a common consequence of DUI in Florida, and this penalty can cause a great deal of inconvenience and limit personal freedoms. It is important to understand, however, that license suspension is strictly enforced, and if you violate your suspension you could face even more severe penalties. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you will be charged with a criminal offense and your penalties could include the following:

Driving with a Suspended License – First Offense

  • Second Degree Misdemeanor
  • Fine up to $500
  • Jail sentence up to 60 days

Driving with a Suspended License – Second Offense

  • First Degree Misdemeanor
  • Fine up to $1,000
  • Jail sentence up to 1 year

Driving with a Suspended License – Third Offense

  • Third Degree Felony
  • Fine up to $5,000
  • Jail sentence up to 5 years

The consequences of violating a license suspension are very severe; if you are charged with this offense, do not hesitate to obtain the aggressive representation of a knowledgeable defense attorney from our firm as soon as possible.

The Impact of Underage DUI Conviction

Beyond license suspension and such consequences as alcohol education or community service, being convicted of underage drunk driving could have serious and widespread implications upon your life and future. A juvenile criminal record can affect your opportunities in a number of ways, and the mark from an under 21 DUI could impact your ability to gain acceptance into certain colleges and universities, obtain scholarships, enter the military, and gain certain professional licenses or a license to carry a firearm.

You may be able to avoid the harsh effects of a juvenile conviction by having your record expunged, which erases criminal offenses from the record of a qualifying individual. If you would like to learn more about expungement to remove any juvenile charges from your criminal record, contact our team today to discuss your options.

Charged with under 21 DUI in Ocala, FL?

If you are charged with drinking and driving as a minor or while under the age of 21, it is important to discuss your case with an experienced Ocala criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Dunham & Ingram LLC we are dedicated to providing the people of Marion County with aggressive and effective criminal defense counsel, and we can help you fight intoxicated driving charges.

We understand the negative implications conviction for underage DUI could have upon your life, and our team can help by building a comprehensive defense that protects your rights and advocates for your best interests. To enlist our powerful legal counsel for your case, contact a DUI lawyer from our office today and fill out a free case evaluation form to learn about your defense options!

Follow us Facebook Twitter Google Plus
1107 east Silver Spring Blvd., Suite 2, Ocala, FL 34470
Attorney Web Design

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Dunham & Ingram LLC - Ocala Criminal Defense Attorney
Located at 225 NE 8th Ave, Ocala, FL 34470.
Phone: (352) 353-8117.
Local: (352) 433-2219.
Website: .